2019 Winners of the Agricultural Writers SA Awards

South Africa’s top contributors to agriculture have been recognised at the Agricultural Writers SA Awards on 15 November in Pretoria. The event gives recognition to the work of those that seek to elevate food security and rural economies. In addition, members of the Agricultural Writers SA were honoured for their role in communicating issues of interest to the agricultural sector and aiding in responsible communication of the sector.

CropLife South Africa is proud to be the sponsor of the first-time award for best crop protection article. Lloyd Phillips won the award with his article How to win the fight against the eldana sugar cane pest published in Farmer’s Weekly.

“It’s an honour to be a part of this prestigious event and to be associated with the Agricultural Writers of South Africa. Our associations have something very significant in common, namely responsibility, which is why this award is so important to us. As we strive to ensure the responsible use of crop protection products in our industry, so we would like to applaud those journalists who go above and beyond to ensure that factual, relevant and valuable information is communicated responsibly to their respective audiences”, says CropLife SA CEO, Rod Bell of their involvement.

Other journalistic and communicator award winners included:

FNB Communicator of the Year Award
1. Werner Scholtz
2. Lloyd Philips
3. Charl van Rooyen

BKB Photo Competition
Agricultural Photographer of the Year: Charl van Rooyen
Agricultural Photo of the Year: Johan Norval

Bayer Technical Article Award
1. Petru Fourie
2. Lindi Botha
3. Ursula Human

Santam Agriculture Farmer of the Year Best Coverage Award
Johan van der Merwe

Nick Serfontein from the Free State has been named the Farmer of the Year, Buks Nel from the Western Cape is the Agriculturalist of the Year and Dirk Louw from the Northern Cape is the New Entrant to Commercial Agriculture Award winner.

In addition, Agbiz CEO John Purchase received a special award for Agricultural Personality of the Year, a well-deserved accolade for his dedication and service to the agricultural sector.

Speaking at the gala event, Agricultural Writers SA chairperson Liza Bohlmann congratulated the winners and said that the awards recipients were not only recognised for excellence in their respective fields, but for their outstanding leadership in agriculture. “We are proud to be associated with you and thank you for your dedication to this higher calling that is agriculture.”

Share this post:
Previous Post

This is how herbicide resistance affects your pocket

Next Post

Don’t let your valuable fresh produce be rejected because of MRL woes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.